I’ve been told I’m decent at writing and decent at volleyball so this is my attempt to put the two together. I’m about to start a lot of pretty fun adventures and I feel like this blog will be a way to share the beauty in them.

Quick update on life: I finished my senior year at the University of Illinois in December and by January 2nd I was in Puerto Rico for my first professional season.  I played 4 months with the Valencianas de Juncos and I absolutely loved it. (Hopefully I’ll post about those things later).

IMG_6952

Now this is where it gets interesting…

I knew that there was a tryout being held in Anaheim, CA at the end of April for players to get drafted by the Korean Volleyball League.  The more I learned about it, the more it seemed like a really great opportunity for where I was at in my career.  My team Juncos in Puerto Rico was doing really well all season and we were working on making a run for the championship in Puerto Rico, which is the ultimate goal for any athlete.  The championship series were the same dates as the tryout in Anaheim, so it looked like there was no chance that I could make it.  But after a tough battled series with Mayaguez in the semi-finals, we found ourselves down 2-3 going into game 6 of a best of 7 series. I went into game 6 knowing the Korean tryout started the next morning, but also knowing that going to the championship is what I worked all season for.  Long story short, we lost that game in 4 sets, and that night I was headed to the airport for a red-eye flight to LAX.  I still can’t comprehend how everything worked out the way it did, having us losing in 6, and there being a 1am flight out of San Juan that night I could make, but it did and I thought that was pretty special.

